tbrs

The Netgalley Misadventures [Part I]

Hello everyone!

So I know that it has been quite a few months since the last time I posted something, and I have been irregular as hell this year. Posting for a couple of weeks, then disappearing from the face of earth for a few months. A lot probably don’t even remember me or know who I am at this point.

But I am feeling much better! And have read quite a bit lately, actually, which makes me feel even more motivated. And I’m using that motivation to help me bring down the list of ARCs that I am pending to review. This is embarrassing because all but one book on my list has already been published, or has been published for A. WHILE. But it’s never too late to review a book, even if the hype has died down other people can always find these books through reviews.

So I don’t only have ARCs through Netgalley, I’ve also gotten some Read Nows from Edelweiss and even one that was APPROVED. And a couple I got directly from the authors, it is a long list for me but I’ve seen others on Twitter that will make it look really short. But for the moment, I will center on Netgalley since it is easier for me to handle those first.

I will also be posting my reviews on the blog and on Goodreads, right now I already have some in queue just so I don’t have to force myself to speed read and write a review just to stay “on schedule”. So you will be seeing some of those soon.

And because I am weak, I know that I will continue to request books through Netgalley as soon as I take some time to browse the titles. So I will be posting updates on that! My main goal right now is to at least go through half of my pending arcs, specially the really old ones.

I am currently reading The Guinever Deception, and I am half way through The Once and Future Witches. Don’t ask how I got The Camelot Betrayal, I don’t even remember requesting it. And I’m debating on DNFing The Once and Future Witches, I put it down last year and haven’t even thought about picking it back up because it’s just so long.

Hopefully I will come back with updates soon.

See you next time!

Reviews

[Review] The Little Teashop in Tokyo by Julie Caplin

★★★☆☆

romance | adult | contemporary

For travel blogger Fiona, Japan has always been top of her bucket list so when she wins an all-expenses paid trip, it looks like her dreams of the Far East are coming true.

Until she arrives in vibrant, neon-drenched Tokyo and comes face-to-face with the man who broke her heart ten years ago, gorgeous photographer Gabe.

Fiona can’t help but remember the heartache of their last meeting but it’s not long before the Japanese art of contentment and a special, traditional tea ceremony work their magic…

Amidst the temples and clouds of soft pink cherry blossoms, Fiona and Gabe start to see life – and each other – differently.

Continue reading “[Review] The Little Teashop in Tokyo by Julie Caplin”
Reviews

[Review] SPY × FAMILY by Tatsuya Endo

★★★★★

manga | action | comedy

Master spy Twilight is unparalleled when it comes to going undercover on dangerous missions for the betterment of the world. But when he receives the ultimate assignment—to get married and have a kid—he may finally be in over his head!

Not one to depend on others, Twilight has his work cut out for him procuring both a wife and a child for his mission to infiltrate an elite private school. What he doesn’t know is that the wife he’s chosen is an assassin and the child he’s adopted is a telepath!

Continue reading “[Review] SPY × FAMILY by Tatsuya Endo”
Reviews

[Review] The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

★★★★☆

mystery | thriller | fantasy

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Continue reading “[Review] The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton”
Personal Update Thingies

5 Things You Might Not Know About Me!

A few days ago I mentioned on Twitter that I wanted to write a “things you didn’t know about me” type of post, and some said it could be fun! And I agree, so today I bring a couple of facts about me that you couldn’t know by just following me on Twitter!

I won’t tag or ask people to do this. However, if you decide to share facts about yourself on your blog or want to comment on some fun or not so fun facts about yourself, I’ll be happy to read them. I would love to know more about you!

Continue reading “5 Things You Might Not Know About Me!”
Book Tour · Reviews

[Review & Book Tour] Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall

★★★★☆

fantasy | young adult

Gravedigger Volke Savan wants nothing more than to be like his hero, the legendary magical swashbuckler, Gregory Ruma. First he needs to become an arcanist, someone capable of wielding magic, which requires bonding with a mythical creature. And he’ll take anything—a pegasus, a griffin, a ravenous hydra—maybe even a leviathan, like Ruma.

So when Volke stumbles across a knightmare, a creature made of shadow and terror, he has no reservations. But the knightmare knows a terrible secret: Ruma is a murderer out to spread corrupted magic throughout their island nation. He’s already killed a population of phoenixes and he intends to kill even more.

In order to protect his home, his adopted sister, and the girl he admires from afar, Volke will need to confront his hero, the Master Arcanist Gregory Ruma.

Continue reading “[Review & Book Tour] Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall”
Sin categoría

June Wrap Up + Mini Reviews!

We’re at the end of June and I can’t believe time passed so fast?! Just yesterday I was posting my May wrap up and posting my TBR for the month. But we are at the end of Pride Month! This was a good reading month, I had a good beginning and the crossed my fingers to not get on a reading slump because I was doing amazing.

I was participating on the Olympic Games Readathon but as you will se below… I did not read the books I was planning to. However, I still somehow completed the prompts! I didn’t even realized it until I was doing to post.

Today I’m also going to add a mini review to those books that don’t have a review post for them. So, let’s get down to the list!

Continue reading “June Wrap Up + Mini Reviews!”
book lists

Anticipated Books for the Rest of 2020

This year has been a very active one for my Amazon account because I keep buying books, I don’t remember the last time I bought this many books in a single year. But I couldn’t stop myself from doing this list to share a couple of books that I’m anticipating for the second half of 2020. The last six months have felt like they both flew by and lasted a damn century.

This is a little sneak peak to some of the books I have preordered. Other I might wait until the paperback edition is released because contrary to what my mother believes I do have autocontrol whe buying online.

Continue reading “Anticipated Books for the Rest of 2020”